Jobs Career Advice Signup

Niger State Government Jobs in Nigeria

Follow this company

Latest Jobs Vacancies in Nigeria at Niger State Government

7 vacancies

About Niger State Government

Niger State was created on 3rd February, 1976 from the defunct North-Western State during the regime of General Murtala Ramat Mohammed; however, the State actually began functioning on April 1st of that year. There were originally Nine Local Government areas (LGAs), namely: Chanchaga, Rafi, Bangi, Gbako, Etswan, Suleja, Mariga, Magama and Lavun. Agaie and Lapai LGAs were later created out of Etswan Local Government Area. Between 1979 and 1983 when Malam Muhammadu Awwal Ibrahim was Executive Governor of the State, eighteen LGAs were managed by the administration, namely Kuta, Paikoro, Chanchaga, Rafi, Gbako, Katcha, Lemu, Lapai, Agaie, Suleja, Mariga, Bangi, Magama, Auna, Lavun, Mokwa, and Jima-Doko. But when the military came into power in 1984, it returned to the original L.G.A structure. Chanchaga was however divided into two:-Minna Municipal Council, with headquarters at Minna and Shiroro LGA with headquarters at Kuta. The LGAs in Niger State became Nineteen (19) in 1991 when President Ibrahim Babangida created Nine (9) States and additional LGAs in Nigeria. However, by 1996 when late General Sani Abacha created six (6) additional States and 182 LGAs, in the entire country, Niger State got additional six (6) LGAs, namely, Katcha, Munya, Mashegu, Edati, Tafa and Mariga, bringing the total to 25 LGAs.
  • Niger State Government Reviews

    No review available
    Do you currently work in this company or maybe have worked there before? Drop a review
  • Niger State Government Salaries

    Not available Anonymously drop your salary if you are working with this company or maybe have worked with them in the past.Drop your salary

Subscribe to Job Alert


Join our happy subscribers