Jobs Career Advice Signup

The Rory Peck Awards

Updated on Jul 02, 2020 513 views
The Rory Peck Awards

About the Awards

For 25 years, the Rory Peck Awards has been celebrating the work of freelance journalists working in news and current affairs worldwide. These are the freelance reporters, filmmakers, photojournalists and camera operators who play a vital role in international newsgathering – and in keeping independent journalism alive.

The Awards are now open for entries, with an entry deadline of Monday 10th August. See the full entry criteria and descriptions of the Award categories here.

Essential information

Each year the Rory Peck Awards honor the most outstanding work produced by freelance journalists and filmmakers working worldwide.

The Awards are free to enter for all and this year’s deadline for submissions is Monday 10th August 2020, 11.59pm BST. Late entries will not be accepted.

How do I enter the Awards?

  • Complete the online entry form
    You must complete and submit your entry form online. At this time, the entry form is only available in English.
  • Upload film files
    Your entry must be submitted as broadcast and uploaded with your entry form as a high-resolution digital film file. The preferred format is .MOV H264 (1920 x 1080) without timecodes. The file should be clearly titled with the name of the entrant and entry title.
  • Supporting materials
    Entries not in English must be accompanied by a detailed and accurate storyline and translation, uploaded to the online entry form.

Am I eligible to enter the Awards?

  • Only work by freelance journalists or filmmakers is eligible for entry. For the purposes of the Rory Peck Awards, the term “freelance” is defined as someone who gathers and generates stories, images and footage for professional broadcast and online news and current affairs platforms. He/she will not have a permanent or rolling contract or salary but may be on a retainer with one or more organisation(s), work to commission or be paid by the piece. This can include those who, at times, may be required to supplement their income by other means.
  • Entries must have been first broadcast between 1 June 2019 and 31 July 2020 inclusive.
  • All entries must be submitted and titled as first broadcast.
  • All entries must have been broadcast or published by a recognised television channel, broadcaster, news agency, VOD/streaming platform or online news platform.
  • Re-versions of previously submitted entries will not be accepted.
  • You cannot submit the same entry into more than one category.
  • We particularly welcome self-funded work and entries from freelancers living and working in regions where it may be difficult to operate.

What categories are available?

The Rory Peck Awards’ four categories recognise quality and impact of work, but also take into account individual endeavour and journalistic integrity. They are:

  • News Award, sponsored by Google
    This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists in the video coverage of a news event where the focus is on the immediacy of the story.
    Duration: up to a maximum of 10 minutes
    *Broadcast news packages & agency feeds are accepted in this category. Portfolio submissions & camera rushes are not.
  • News Features Award
    This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists in video news features that take a more in-depth look at a story, beyond the immediacy of the news.
    Duration: up to a maximum of 30 minutes
  • Sony Impact Award for Current Affairs
    This Award recognises the work of freelance journalists working in long-form current affairs video/film that examines a single issue, story or situation and has an impact on the viewer, policy or public awareness.
    Duration: up to a maximum of 60 minutes
  • Martin Adler Prize
    The Martin Adler Prize honours a local freelance journalist or field producer working in any medium whose work with international media outlets has made a significant contribution to newsgathering, either through a single story or body of work. The aim of the prize is to highlight the dedication and talent of local freelancers who often work under challenging and difficult circumstances within their own country, and who go largely unrecognised.

The Martin Adler Prize is a unique chance to give global recognition to someone you have commissioned, admired, worked with or relied upon whose work has made a significant contribution to newsgathering. You may NOT nominate or enter yourself for this category.

See our terms and conditions of entry here.

If you have any questions about the entry process, please contact the Awards team.

Read More about this Award Here

Apply Here

Staff Writer

This article was written and edited by a staff writer.

Leave a Comment

Login required
Related Post
Top Post