Jobs Career Advice Signup

Coimbra Group Short Stay Scholarship Programme for Young Researchers from Sub-Saharan Africa

Updated on Feb 07, 2018 1870 views
Coimbra Group Short Stay Scholarship Programme for Young Researchers from Sub-Saharan Africa


Universities of the Coimbra Group offer short-term visits (generally 1 to maximum 3 months) to young African researchers from higher education institutions from Sub-Saharan Africa. The main aim of this scholarship programme is to enable scholars to undertake research in which they are engaged in their home institution and to help them to establish academic and research contacts. The scholarships are financially supported by the Coimbra Group member universities participating in this programme, while the Coimbra Group Office is in charge of the administrative management of the applications.

The following Coimbra Group universities are participating in the 2018 edition of the scheme:


  • University of Barcelona (Spain)

  • Eötvös Loránd University Budapest (Hungary)

  • University of Coimbra (Portugal)

  • University of Granada (Spain)

  • University of Graz (Austria)

  • University of Groningen (The Netherlands)

  • KU Leuven (Belgium)

  • University of Padova (Italy)

  • University of Pavia (Italy)

  • University of Poitiers (France)

  • University of Salamanca (Spain)

  • University of Würzburg (Germany)


Eligibility Criteria

Applicants should be:

  • Born on or after 1 January 1973

  • Nationals of and current residents in a country in Sub-Saharan Africa

  • Current staff members of a university or an equivalent higher education institution in Sub-Saharan Africa

  • of doctoral/postdoctoral or equivalent status although some universities offer grants for Master’s level students
    (please see details in the table below).

In most universities the language of instruction is that of the country itself, but in many universities it is possible to use
English as the working language.

Application Procedure

Online application form

Applicants must fill in the on-line application form before 16 March 2018 midnight (Brussels time).
Candidates will be able to select one university only. Multiple applications will not be considered valid.

See More Details Here

Staff Writer

This article was written and edited by a staff writer.

Leave a Comment

Login required
Related Post
Top Post