Jobs Career Advice Signup

Global Shining Light Award for Journalists from Developing Countries 2017

Updated on Feb 22, 2017 1158 views
Global Shining Light Award for Journalists from Developing Countries 2017 About the Award: Each year dozens of journalists and media workers are killed – and hundreds more are attacked, imprisoned or threatened – just for doing their job. Many of these violations of free expression occur in developing or emerging countries, and quite often during military conflicts. There are a number of international awards recognizing such attacks on freedom of expression.

But there is another clear trend that emerges in analyses of global attacks on reporters and the media. More and more journalists are being killed, and media outlets attacked, because they are carrying out important efforts in investigative journalism – exposing uncomfortable truths, shining light on systematic corruption, and providing accountability in societies yearning for democracy and development. There are more journalists killed each year covering corruption and politics as are killed covering wars, according to the Committee to Protect Journalists.

On behalf of the global investigative journalism community, GIJN is pleased to recognize and celebrate these courageous investigative journalists and their work.

Type: Contest, Award

Eligibility: The journalist, journalism team, or media outlet provided independent, investigative reporting, which:

Originated in and affected a developing or emerging country
Was broadcast or published between January 1, 2015 and December 31, 2016;
Was of an investigative nature;
Uncovered an issue, wrong-doing, or system of corruption which gravely affected the common good;
And did so in the face of arrest, imprisonment, violence against them and their families, or threats and intimidation

Value of Contest: The winner receives an honorary plaque, US$2,000, and a trip to the 2017 Global Investigative Journalism Conference to accept the award in front of hundreds of their colleagues from around the world.

Duration of Contest: November 16-19 in Johannesburg, South Africa.

How to Apply: Online submissions are strongly preferred. If you need to send hard copy, mail it to: Global Shining Light Awards/GIJN, Pozsonyi Way 10, 2nd floor 8 door, Budapest 1137, Hungary. Any questions about the award should be emailed to

If submissions are in languages other than English, you must provide a detailed English-language summary of a print or online story, or an English-language transcript of a broadcast script.

Visit Contest Webpage for details

Award Provider: Global Investigative Journalism Network

Application Deadline: 15th May 2017

Eligible Countries:  Developing Countries

To be taken at (country): Johannesburg, South Africa.

Staff Writer

This article was written and edited by a staff writer.

Leave a Comment

Login required
Related Post
Top Post